Trainee LDE – Ellen

Image

The so-called strategic alliance between the three universities of the Dutch province South-Holland was recruiting 12 LDE trainees. When I saw the vacancy, I had no second thoughts about whether to apply or not. What a great idea to give support in creating surplus from the collaboration between the universities Leiden Universiteit, TU Delft and Erasmus University Rotterdam! Immediately I started with writing my letter and pimping my CV. The rest is history.

Contingency

Since January 2nd this year, 12 LDE trainees started their work. For the next two years, we will work as support staff on at least two different projects within the strategic alliance. In addition, we get a lot of training opportunities to work on personal and professional development. At the beginning I actually had no idea what kind of projects were available precisely. So in order to specify our workplaces for the first period of eight months, a ”matching day” was organized. During this day I talked with some of the project leaders and soon my preferences were clear. Luckily my preference was mutual so I could start my traineeship at the Centre for Frugal Innovation in Africa. The Centre is initiated by the African Studies Centre Leiden, TU Delft faculty of Technology, Policy and Management (TPM) and the International Institute for Social Studies (ISS) of the Erasmus University Rotterdam.

Insert and add

My task is to provide the Centre with overall support. For example, I am now busy with its organization, communication and finance (I already organized an expert meeting, build a Facebook page and sorted out financing possibilities). Building upon my academic background in Sociology and Health Economics, Policy and Law I also give input concerning the content of the Centre. So far, I perform desk research and in-depth interviews on the topic ‘Frugal Innovation in Africa’.

In my next blog I will provide you with a glimpse of my daily activities!

Leave a Reply

